Meet Our Team

The Jewish Association on Aging has a highly committed, dedicated staff and leadership team who share cultural values and a common passion for helping seniors live full, purposeful lives.

Administration

Deborah Winn-Horvitz, MS, President & Chief Executive Officer

Jen McCay, Executive Assistant to the CEO
412-521-1094 | jmccay@jaapgh.org

Mary Anne Foley, RN, MSN, Chief Operating Officer
412-422-5700 x 1375 | mafoley@jaapgh.org

Rick  Haskins, MA, Chief Development Officer
412-521-2476  |   rhaskins@jaapgh.org

Jay Sukernek, CPA, Chief Financial Officer
412-521-8654 | jsukernek@jaapgh.org 

Beverly Brinn, MBA, Director of Development and Community Engagement
412-521-1975 | bbrinn@jaapgh.org

Amy Dukes, CAEd, CADDCT, Director of Memory Care Operations
412-521-8295 | adukes@jaapgh.org

Nadine Kruman, MSW, LSW, Care Navigator
412-420-4000 x 2252 | nkruman@jaapgh.org

Tinsy Labrie, MS, Director of Marketing and Public Relations
412-586-3290 | tlabrie@jaapgh.org

Abby Miles, MHA, Manager of Business Analytics
412-586-3353 | amiles@jaapgh.org

Rabbi Eli Seidman, Rabbinical Ordination, Director of Pastoral Care
412-521-1685 | eseidman@jaapgh.org

Linda Simmeth, PHR, HRCI, Senior Director of Human Resources
412-521-6021 | lsimmeth@jaapgh.org

Trent Wilburn, Director of Business Development
412-889-1678 | twilburn@jaapgh.org

Residential Services

AHAVA Memory Care Residence

Martha Martel, RN, BSHA, Administrator
412-521-8299 | mmartel@jaapgh.org

Charles Morris Nursing & Rehabilitation Center

Phil Ricci, MOT, OTRL, BHS, NHA, Administrator
412-521-1689 | pricci@jaapgh.org

Amanda Sowa, MHA, MSN, Director of Nursing
412-521-2478 | ahurst@jaapgh.org

Liz Checkle, Coordinator of Admissions
412-521-1174 | echeckle@jaapgh.org

Nicole Morgan, Director of Social Services
412-521-4191 | nmorgan@jaapgh.org

Cindy Pace, Clinical Liaison/Admissions
412-592-5225 | cpace@jaapgh.org

Sharyn Rubin, MEd, Director of Resident & Community Services
412-521-1171 | srubin@jaapgh.org

Harry &  Jeanette Weinberg Terrace

Rena Becker, MHA, NHA, Executive Director 
412-420-3341 | rbecker@jaapgh.org

The Residence at Weinberg Village

Pearl Averbach, MSW, LCSW, PCHA, Executive Director 
412-521-8988 | paverbach@jaapgh.org

Bob Mushinsky, Director of Resident Care
412-812-3871 | rmushinsky@jaapgh.org

Home and Community Services

Stephanie Buddle, RN, BSN, Director of Professional Services, Home Health
412-586-3249 | sbuddle@jaapgh.org

Fraida Estrin, Coordinator, Mollie’s Meals
412-421-7616 | festrin@jaapgh.org

Lori O’Brien, Manager, Adult Day/Night Services and Anathan Club
412-422-9454 | lobrien@jaapgh.org

Stacey Tabanli, RN, Director of Professional Services, Sivitz Jewish Hospice
412-422-5700 | stabanli@jaapgh.org

Board of Directors

Officers

Andrew Stewart, Chair

Lynette Lederman, Vice Chair

Mike Levin, Treasurer

John Katz, Secretary

Steve Halpern, Assistant Secretary

Mitchell Pakler, Immediate Past Chair

Deborah Winn-Horvitz, JAA President & CEO

Board Members

James B. Brown

Norman Childs

Elizabeth Chow, M.D.

Gary Cozen

Janice Faller Schermer

Karen Wolk Feinstein, Ph.D.

Jack Friedman

Daphna Gans, Ph.D.

Paula Garret

H. Arnold Gefsky, Esq.

Ted Goldberg

William Goldfarb, M.D.

John Katz

Sue Berman Kress

Philip Lehman, Ph.D.

Michael Lowenstein

Lloyd Myers

Pearl Moore

Elliott Oshry

Lou Plung

Charles Porter

Todd Rosenfeld, CFP

Barry Roth

Joanne Simon

Howard Sniderman

E.J. Strassburger

Judith Tobe

Katie Whitlatch